Switch 2 · Switch
Animal Crossing: New Horizons co-op
On one console, the stores list 1-4 players on Switch 2, 1-4 players on Switch; online play goes up to 12.
- Co-op
- Mixed skill OK
- Tabletop OK
- Online needs NSO
Co-op per Nintendo (official store page), cited in our role notes below. No store field says co-op.
Quick answer for your console
Yes: 1-4 players on one Switch 2
Grab a second controller.
- Split or shared screen: not stated by Nintendo.com store
- Controllers: Nintendo.com store does not say whether one Joy-Con each is enough
- Online: 1-12 players, needs Nintendo Switch Online
- Regular price $64.99
- Nintendo.com store, checked Oct 18, 2026
Yes: 1-4 players on one Switch
Grab a second controller.
- Split or shared screen: not stated by Nintendo.com store
- Controllers: Nintendo.com store does not say whether one Joy-Con each is enough
- Online: 1-8 players, needs Nintendo Switch Online
- Regular price $59.99
- Nintendo.com store, checked Oct 18, 2026
Same console or online
Up to 4 players
- Switch 2: 1-4 players
- Switch: 1-4 players
- Drop-in: no store description says so (we only read store text for this). Not sure? See role notes
Up to 12 players
- Switch 2: 1-12 players, needs Nintendo Switch Online
- Switch: 1-8 players, needs Nintendo Switch Online
How to split the roles
When one of you plays more than the other: who takes which seat in Animal Crossing: New Horizons, and why.
Leader
Only the leader can talk to villagers, enter buildings and use inventory.
Follower, then take the lead later
Followers are teleported back if they wander off, and the lead can be passed over.
Skill-gap friendly · higher is easier
4out of 5
Low-pressure sandbox with leader/follower roles and no sourced fail state.
Official help aimed at a weaker or newer player: assist or beginner mode, a support seat, a way to carry or rescue a partner, or a game built for young children. No sourced invulnerability.
Easy to coordinate · higher is easier
2out of 3 · Medium
The leader decides where to go and when to hand over.
Medium: regular hand-offs, timed moves together or shared decisions.
The roles Different jobs
Leader and followers have different permissions; the lead can be handed over.
Leader Light
Light seat: planning. Suits the more experienced player.
Does most single-player actions: villagers, buildings, inventory.
- Planning
Follower Light
Light seat. Suits the newer player.
Explores alongside; cannot talk to villagers, enter buildings or open inventory.
Help for the newer player
- Followers who move too far are teleported back near the leader.
- The leader role can be handed to a follower.
Ways to split the work
- Pass the lead: shake the controller, then the follower presses A while standing.
- Followers cannot enter buildings or open their inventory, so the leader handles shops and villagers.
- No need to babysit: followers who wander too far are teleported back.
Sources (6, 1 official) and how we rate
- 1. Nintendo (official store page) (official): Up to four players on the same island at the same time. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 2. Nookipedia: The first player is the leader; the others are followers. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 3. Nookipedia: The leader can do most single-player actions. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 4. Nookipedia: Followers cannot talk to villagers, chat, enter buildings or open inventory or NookPhone. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 5. Nookipedia: Followers who wander too far are teleported back near the leader. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 6. Nookipedia: The leader role can be handed to a follower. Read Oct 18, 2026.
Both ratings use one fixed scale for every game, higher is easier for a mixed pair; the levels are on our data page. Roles are split by experience, never by who the players are.
Screenshots
Every store, field by field
Switch 2
- Players on one console
- 1-4 players
- Local wireless (several consoles)
- 1-8 players
- Online
- 1-12 players, needs Nintendo Switch Online
- ESRB rating
- Everyone (Comic Mischief, Mild Fantasy Violence, Users Interact, In-Game Purchases)
- Regular price
- $64.99
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Jan 15, 2026
- Play modes
- TV mode, Tabletop mode, Handheld mode
Official page (Nintendo.com store)Checked Oct 18, 2026
Switch
- Players on one console
- 1-4 players
- Local wireless (several consoles)
- 1-8 players
- Online
- 1-8 players, needs Nintendo Switch Online
- ESRB rating
- Everyone (Comic Mischief, Mild Fantasy Violence, Users Interact, In-Game Purchases)
- Regular price
- $59.99
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Mar 20, 2020
- Play modes
- TV mode, Tabletop mode, Handheld mode
Official page (Nintendo.com store)Checked Oct 18, 2026
"Not a store field" means that store has no such label at all; "Not listed" means the store has the field and left it empty. Genres: not listed.
Where the consoles differ
- Online players: Switch 2 12 · Switch 8
Is this good for couch co-op?
Played it on one sofa? Tell other readers. One anonymous vote per game, no account.
Loading votes…
If you liked this co-op, try
Image: META Publishing via Microsoft StoreLocal4Biped 2Both seat 4 on Switch
Image: Outright Games Ltd. via Microsoft StoreLocal4Bluey: The VideogameBoth seat 4 on Switch
Image: Ubisoft via Microsoft StoreLocal4BrawlhallaBoth seat 4 on Switch
Image: Seaven Studio via Microsoft StoreLocal4BrotatoBoth seat 4 on Switch 2
Picked by shared database fields only (player count, screen type, genre, drop-in, console), not by popularity.