Xbox Series X|S · Switch · PC (Steam)
Moving Out co-op
On one console, the stores list 2-4 players on Xbox Series X|S, 1-4 players on Switch.
- Co-op
- Mixed skill OK
- Remote Play Together
- Tabletop OK
Co-op or versus: from the Microsoft Store co-op fields and Steam categories.
Quick answer for your console
Yes: 2-4 players on one Xbox Series X|S
Grab a second controller.
- Split or shared screen: not stated by Microsoft Store (Xbox)
- Online: Not listed
- Regular price $24.99
- Microsoft Store (Xbox), checked Oct 18, 2026
Yes: 1-4 players on one Switch
Grab a second controller.
- Split or shared screen: not stated by Nintendo.com store
- Controllers: Nintendo.com store does not say whether one Joy-Con each is enough
- Online: Not listed
- Regular price $24.99
- Nintendo.com store, checked Oct 18, 2026
Yes: Steam lists local co-op on one PC
Grab a second controller.
- The store's Shared/split screen label is on; it does not say which
- Online: No online play listed
- Remote Play Together: a friend joins your local game over the internet
- Steam Deck: Verified
- Regular price $24.99
- Steam, checked Oct 18, 2026
Same console or online
Up to 4 players
- Xbox Series X|S: 2-4 players (co-op)
- Switch: 1-4 players
- PC (Steam): Local co-op listed (no player count on Steam)
- Drop-in: no store description says so (we only read store text for this). Not sure? See role notes
Not listed by any store
- Steam Remote Play Together: friends can join a local session over the internet
How to split the roles
When one of you plays more than the other: who takes which seat in Moving Out, and why.
Plan the route for big items
The store pitches the co-op around working out the best way to move a couch together.
Play with Assist Mode on
Assist Mode lets rookies adjust the difficulty so anyone can play.
Skill-gap friendly · higher is easier
4out of 5
Official Assist Mode aimed at rookies.
Official help aimed at a weaker or newer player: assist or beginner mode, a support seat, a way to carry or rescue a partner, or a game built for young children. No sourced invulnerability.
Easy to coordinate · higher is easier
2out of 3 · Medium
Big items need the team to agree on a plan.
Medium: regular hand-offs, timed moves together or shared decisions.
The roles Same moves for both
All movers are the same; the job decides the split.
Mover (every player) Moderate
Moderate seat: talking it through and timing.
Moves furniture out with the team.
- Talking it through
- Timing
Help for the newer player
- Assist Mode adjusts the difficulty for rookies.
Ways to split the work
- Rookie on the team? Switch on Assist Mode to adjust the difficulty.
- Agree on a plan before lifting: the store itself jokes about arguing over the best way to move a couch.
Sources (3, 3 official) and how we rate
- 1. Nintendo (official store page) (official): Assist Mode lets rookies adjust the difficulty. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 2. Nintendo (official store page) (official): Up to four players move furniture together on the couch. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 3. Nintendo (official store page) (official): Story mode solo or with friends. Read Oct 18, 2026.
Both ratings use one fixed scale for every game, higher is easier for a mixed pair; the levels are on our data page. Roles are split by experience, never by who the players are.
Trailer and screenshots
Every store, field by field
Xbox Series X|S
- Players on one console
- 2-4 players (co-op)
- Online
- Not listed
- Shared/split screen label
- No
- Crossplay
- No
- ESRB rating
- Everyone (Mild Cartoon Violence)
- Regular price
- $24.99
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Apr 28, 2020
Show all fields (4 this store does not have)
- Local wireless (several consoles): not a store field
- Remote Play Together: not a store field
- Steam Deck: not a store field
- Play modes: not a store field
Official page (Microsoft Store (Xbox))Checked Oct 18, 2026
Switch
- Players on one console
- 1-4 players
- Local wireless (several consoles)
- Not listed
- Online
- Not listed
- ESRB rating
- Everyone (Mild Cartoon Violence)
- Regular price
- $24.99
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Apr 28, 2020
- Play modes
- TV mode, Tabletop mode, Handheld mode
Show all fields (4 this store does not have)
- Shared/split screen label: not a store field
- Crossplay: not a store field
- Remote Play Together: not a store field
- Steam Deck: not a store field
Official page (Nintendo.com store)Checked Oct 18, 2026
PC (Steam)
- Players on one console
- Local co-op listed (no player count on Steam)
- Online
- No online play listed
- Shared/split screen label
- Yes
- Crossplay
- No
- Remote Play Together
- Yes
- Steam Deck
- Verified
- ESRB rating
- Not listed
- Regular price
- $24.99
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Apr 28, 2020
Show all fields (2 this store does not have)
- Local wireless (several consoles): not a store field
- Play modes: not a store field
Official page (Steam)Checked Oct 18, 2026
"Not a store field" means that store has no such label at all; "Not listed" means the store has the field and left it empty. Genres: Family, Simulation, Strategy.
Is this good for couch co-op?
Played it on one sofa? Tell other readers. One anonymous vote per game, no account.
Loading votes…
If you liked this co-op, try
All of these: Both seat 4 on Xbox Series X|S · Remote Play Together
Image: Team17 via Microsoft StoreLocal4Moving Out 2Family + Strategy
Image: Plug In Digital via Microsoft StoreLocal4Out of SpaceFamily + Strategy
Image: Electronic Arts via Microsoft StoreLocal4Super Mega Baseball 4Family + Simulation
Image: Infogrames, Atari via Microsoft StoreLocal4Totally Reliable Delivery ServiceFamily + Simulation
Picked by shared database fields only (player count, screen type, genre, drop-in, console), not by popularity.