Xbox Series X|S · Switch · PC (Steam)
Overcooked! All You Can Eat co-op and versus
On one console, the stores list 2-4 players on Xbox Series X|S, 1-4 players on Switch; online play goes up to 4.
- Co-op + versus
- Mixed skill OK
- Remote Play Together
- Tabletop OK
- Crossplay
Co-op or versus: from the Microsoft Store co-op fields and Steam categories.
Quick answer for your console
Yes: 2-4 players on one Xbox Series X|S
Grab a second controller.
- Split or shared screen: not stated by Microsoft Store (Xbox)
- Online: 2-4 players (co-op)
- Regular price $39.99
- Microsoft Store (Xbox), checked Oct 18, 2026
Yes: 1-4 players on one Switch
Grab a second controller.
- Split or shared screen: not stated by Nintendo.com store
- Controllers: Nintendo.com store does not say whether one Joy-Con each is enough
- Online: Not listed
- Regular price $39.99
- Nintendo.com store, checked Oct 18, 2026
Yes: Steam lists local co-op on one PC
Grab a second controller.
- The store's Shared/split screen label is on; it does not say which
- Online: Online play listed
- Crossplay listed by the store
- Remote Play Together: a friend joins your local game over the internet
- Steam Deck: Playable
- Regular price $39.99
- Steam, checked Oct 18, 2026
Same console or online
Up to 4 players
- Xbox Series X|S: 2-4 players (co-op)
- Switch: 1-4 players
- PC (Steam): Local co-op listed (no player count on Steam)
- Drop-in: no store description says so (we only read store text for this). Not sure? See role notes
Up to 4 players
- Xbox Series X|S: 2-4 players (co-op)
- PC (Steam): Online play listed
- Crossplay listed by Steam
- Steam Remote Play Together: friends can join a local session over the internet
How to split the roles
When one of you plays more than the other: who takes which seat in Overcooked! All You Can Eat, and why.
The station that has to throw ingredients across a split kitchen
Team17 says later kitchens separate the chefs and require throwing ingredients across the room.
Any station, with Assist mode on
Assist mode slows recipe timeouts, lengthens round timers and can skip a level.
Skill-gap friendly · higher is easier
4out of 5
Official Assist mode including level skip; no special role for a weaker player.
Official help aimed at a weaker or newer player: assist or beginner mode, a support seat, a way to carry or rescue a partner, or a game built for young children. No sourced invulnerability.
Easy to coordinate · higher is easier
1out of 3 · Hard
Team17 calls the series "all about communication"; orders need constant callouts.
Hard: constant talking, or one player sees or knows what the other needs.
The roles Same moves for both
Every chef has the same moves; the kitchen layout decides who does what.
Chef (every player) Moderate
Moderate seat: multitasking and talking it through.
Prepares, cooks and serves orders; in later kitchens chefs are separated and throw ingredients across.
- Multitasking
- Talking it through
- Timing
Help for the newer player
- Assist mode: slower recipe timeout, increased round timers, skip levels.
- Scalable UI and dyslexia-friendly text.
Ways to split the work
- Turn on Assist mode for slower recipe timeouts and longer round timers.
- If one kitchen is too hard, Assist mode can skip the level.
- Later kitchens split the team; practise throwing ingredients across.
Sources (6, 6 official) and how we rate
- 1. Nintendo (official store page) (official): Assist mode is new in All You Can Eat. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 2. Nintendo (official store page) (official): Assist mode options: slower recipe timeout, longer round timers, option to skip levels. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 3. Nintendo (official store page) (official): Scalable UI and dyslexia-friendly text options. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 4. Team17 (official publisher page) (official): All You Can Eat combines Overcooked! and Overcooked! 2 with all extra content, remastered. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 5. Team17 (official publisher page) (official): Team17: Overcooked! is all about communication. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 6. Team17 (official publisher page) (official): Later Overcooked! 2 kitchens separate the chefs, so ingredients must be thrown across. Read Oct 18, 2026.
Both ratings use one fixed scale for every game, higher is easier for a mixed pair; the levels are on our data page. Roles are split by experience, never by who the players are.
Screenshots
Every store, field by field
Xbox Series X|S
- Players on one console
- 2-4 players (co-op)
- Online
- 2-4 players (co-op)
- Shared/split screen label
- No
- Crossplay
- No
- ESRB rating
- Everyone (Mild Cartoon Violence)
- Regular price
- $39.99
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Nov 10, 2020
Show all fields (4 this store does not have)
- Local wireless (several consoles): not a store field
- Remote Play Together: not a store field
- Steam Deck: not a store field
- Play modes: not a store field
Official page (Microsoft Store (Xbox))Checked Oct 18, 2026
Switch
- Players on one console
- 1-4 players
- Local wireless (several consoles)
- 2-4 players
- Online
- Not listed
- ESRB rating
- Everyone (Mild Cartoon Violence, Users Interact)
- Regular price
- $39.99
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Mar 23, 2021
- Play modes
- TV mode, Tabletop mode, Handheld mode
Show all fields (4 this store does not have)
- Shared/split screen label: not a store field
- Crossplay: not a store field
- Remote Play Together: not a store field
- Steam Deck: not a store field
Official page (Nintendo.com store)Checked Oct 18, 2026
PC (Steam)
- Players on one console
- Local co-op listed (no player count on Steam)
- Online
- Online play listed
- Shared/split screen label
- Yes
- Crossplay
- Yes
- Remote Play Together
- Yes
- Steam Deck
- Playable
- ESRB rating
- Not listed
- Regular price
- $39.99
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Mar 23, 2021
Show all fields (2 this store does not have)
- Local wireless (several consoles): not a store field
- Play modes: not a store field
Official page (Steam)Checked Oct 18, 2026
"Not a store field" means that store has no such label at all; "Not listed" means the store has the field and left it empty. Genres: Family.
Where the consoles differ
- Online players: Xbox Series X|S 4 · Switch not listed
Is this good for couch co-op?
Played it on one sofa? Tell other readers. One anonymous vote per game, no account.
Loading votes…
If you liked this co-op, try
All of these: Both seat 4 on Xbox Series X|S · Family · Remote Play Together
Image: META Publishing via Microsoft StoreLocal4Biped 2Rated Everyone
Image: Ubisoft via Microsoft StoreLocal4BrawlhallaRated Everyone 10+
Image: Inertia Game Studios via Microsoft StoreLocal4CatastronautsRated Everyone 10+
Image: SMG Studio via Microsoft StoreLocal4Death SquaredRated Everyone
Picked by shared database fields only (player count, screen type, genre, drop-in, console), not by popularity.