Xbox Series X|S · Switch · PC (Steam)
Trine 5: A Clockwork Conspiracy co-op
On one console, the stores list 1-4 players on Switch; online play goes up to 4.
- Co-op
- Remote Play Together
- Tabletop OK
- Online needs NSO
Co-op or versus: from the Steam categories.
Quick answer for your console
No co-op listed on Xbox Series X|S
- Split or shared screen: not stated by Microsoft Store (Xbox)
- Online: Not listed
- Regular price $29.99
- Microsoft Store (Xbox), checked Oct 18, 2026
Yes: 1-4 players on one Switch
Grab a second controller.
- Split or shared screen: not stated by Nintendo.com store
- Controllers: Nintendo.com store does not say whether one Joy-Con each is enough
- Online: 1-4 players, needs Nintendo Switch Online
- Regular price $29.99
- Nintendo.com store, checked Oct 18, 2026
Yes: Steam lists local co-op on one PC
Grab a second controller.
- The store's Shared/split screen label is on; it does not say which
- Online: Online play listed
- Remote Play Together: a friend joins your local game over the internet
- Steam Deck: Playable
- Regular price $29.99
- Steam, checked Oct 18, 2026
Same console or online
Up to 4 players
- Switch: 1-4 players
- PC (Steam): Local co-op listed (no player count on Steam)
- Drop-in: no store description says so (we only read store text for this). Not sure? See role notes
Up to 4 players
- Switch: 1-4 players, needs Nintendo Switch Online
- PC (Steam): Online play listed
- Steam Remote Play Together: friends can join a local session over the internet
How to split the roles
When one of you plays more than the other: who takes which seat in Trine 5: A Clockwork Conspiracy, and why.
Based on the store listing only. We found no official guide or manual that goes further than the store page, so the advice below stays general.
The hero who drives the puzzle solutions
Puzzle difficulty adapts to the number of players, so puzzles are built around the group.
Any hero, with an easier difficulty
The store lists a difficulty choice.
Skill-gap friendly · higher is easier
3out of 5
Difficulty choice and player-count scaling; no dedicated helper role.
General help only: a difficulty choice, drop-in/drop-out, quick respawn, per-player settings or turn-based pace. Both players still face the same core challenge.
Easy to coordinate · higher is easier
2out of 3 · Medium
Puzzles are tuned to the group size.
Medium: regular hand-offs, timed moves together or shared decisions.
The roles Different jobs
Three heroes with different skills (the store does not list them).
Amadeus the Wizard Moderate
Moderate seat: puzzles.
One of the three heroes (store does not list tools).
- Puzzles
Zoya the Thief Moderate
Moderate seat: platforming.
One of the three heroes (store does not list tools).
- Platforming
Pontius the Knight Moderate
Moderate seat: timing.
One of the three heroes (store does not list tools).
- Timing
Help for the newer player
- Puzzle difficulty adapts to the number of players.
- Store tag: "Choose your difficulty".
Ways to split the work
- Pick the difficulty before starting; the store lists a difficulty choice.
- Puzzles adapt to the number of players, so two-player puzzles are built for two.
Sources (3, 3 official) and how we rate
- 1. Nintendo (official store page) (official): Heroes: Amadeus the Wizard, Zoya the Thief, Pontius the Knight. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 2. Nintendo (official store page) (official): Puzzle difficulty adapts to the number of players. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 3. Nintendo (official store page) (official): The store lists the feature tag "Choose your difficulty". Read Oct 18, 2026.
Both ratings use one fixed scale for every game, higher is easier for a mixed pair; the levels are on our data page. Roles are split by experience, never by who the players are.
Screenshots
Every store, field by field
Xbox Series X|S
- Players on one console
- Not listed
- Online
- Not listed
- Shared/split screen label
- No
- Crossplay
- No
- ESRB rating
- Everyone 10+ (Fantasy Violence)
- Regular price
- $29.99
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Aug 31, 2023
Show all fields (4 this store does not have)
- Local wireless (several consoles): not a store field
- Remote Play Together: not a store field
- Steam Deck: not a store field
- Play modes: not a store field
Official page (Microsoft Store (Xbox))Checked Oct 18, 2026
Switch
- Players on one console
- 1-4 players
- Local wireless (several consoles)
- 1-4 players
- Online
- 1-4 players, needs Nintendo Switch Online
- ESRB rating
- Everyone 10+ (Fantasy Violence)
- Regular price
- $29.99
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Aug 31, 2023
- Play modes
- TV mode, Tabletop mode, Handheld mode
Show all fields (4 this store does not have)
- Shared/split screen label: not a store field
- Crossplay: not a store field
- Remote Play Together: not a store field
- Steam Deck: not a store field
Official page (Nintendo.com store)Checked Oct 18, 2026
PC (Steam)
- Players on one console
- Local co-op listed (no player count on Steam)
- Online
- Online play listed
- Shared/split screen label
- Yes
- Crossplay
- No
- Remote Play Together
- Yes
- Steam Deck
- Playable
- ESRB rating
- Everyone 10+ (Fantasy Violence)
- Regular price
- $29.99
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Aug 31, 2023
Show all fields (2 this store does not have)
- Local wireless (several consoles): not a store field
- Play modes: not a store field
Official page (Steam)Checked Oct 18, 2026
"Not a store field" means that store has no such label at all; "Not listed" means the store has the field and left it empty. Genres: Puzzle, Adventure, Action, Platformer.
Where the consoles differ
- Players on one console: Xbox Series X|S not listed · Switch 4
- Online players: Xbox Series X|S not listed · Switch 4
Is this good for couch co-op?
Played it on one sofa? Tell other readers. One anonymous vote per game, no account.
Loading votes…
If you liked this co-op, try
All of these: Both seat 4 on Switch · Remote Play Together
Image: META Publishing via Microsoft StoreLocal4Biped 2Adventure + Action
Image: Inertia Game Studios via Microsoft StoreLocal4CatastronautsAdventure + Action
Image: KONAMI via Microsoft StoreLocal4Contra: Operation GalugaAdventure + Action
Image: SMG Studio via Microsoft StoreLocal4Death SquaredPuzzle + Adventure
Picked by shared database fields only (player count, screen type, genre, drop-in, console), not by popularity.