PS5 · Xbox Series X|S · Switch · PC (Steam)
Contra: Operation Galuga co-op
On one console, the stores list 1-4 players on PS5, 2-4 players on Xbox Series X|S, 1-4 players on Switch.
- Co-op
- Mixed skill OK
- Remote Play Together
- Tabletop OK
Co-op or versus: from the Microsoft Store co-op fields and Steam categories.
Quick answer for your console
Yes: 1-4 players on one PS5
Grab a second controller.
- Split or shared screen: not stated by PlayStation Store
- Online: Not listed
- Regular price $39.99
- PlayStation Store, checked Oct 18, 2026
Yes: 2-4 players on one Xbox Series X|S
Grab a second controller.
- Split or shared screen: not stated by Microsoft Store (Xbox)
- Online: Not listed
- Regular price $39.99
- Microsoft Store (Xbox), checked Oct 18, 2026
Yes: 1-4 players on one Switch
Grab a second controller.
- Split or shared screen: not stated by Nintendo.com store
- Controllers: Nintendo.com store does not say whether one Joy-Con each is enough
- Online: Not listed
- Regular price $39.99
- Nintendo.com store, checked Oct 18, 2026
Yes: Steam lists local co-op on one PC
Grab a second controller.
- The store's Shared/split screen label is on; it does not say which
- Online: No online play listed
- Remote Play Together: a friend joins your local game over the internet
- Steam Deck: Verified
- Regular price $39.99
- Steam, checked Oct 18, 2026
Same console or online
Up to 4 players
- PS5: 1-4 players
- Xbox Series X|S: 2-4 players (co-op)
- Switch: 1-4 players
- PC (Steam): Local co-op listed (no player count on Steam)
- Drop-in: no store description says so (we only read store text for this). Not sure? See role notes
Not listed by any store
- Steam Remote Play Together: friends can join a local session over the internet
How to split the roles
When one of you plays more than the other: who takes which seat in Contra: Operation Galuga, and why.
Play the harder settings; the health bar and assists are there for newer players.
The official page says assists can be turned on individually; the harder modes are the default challenge.
Turn on the health bar and assists; you get three hits per life.
The health bar gives three hits per life, and assists can be turned on individually to help you play.
Skill-gap friendly · higher is easier
4out of 5
Official assists and a health bar exist for weaker players. There is no invulnerability, and the one-hit kill mode is still an option.
Official help aimed at a weaker or newer player: assist or beginner mode, a support seat, a way to carry or rescue a partner, or a game built for young children. No sourced invulnerability.
Easy to coordinate · higher is easier
3out of 3 · Easy
Co-op is shared shooting; no sourced page describes coordination between players.
Easy: you can mostly play side by side; little talking needed.
The roles Same moves for both
Both players shoot in the same way. Each picks a character with a different ability; no source describes a fixed role split.
Character with a special ability Light
Light seat: aim and platforming.
Each player picks a character; each character has a specific ability or two the player needs to succeed.
- Aim
- Platforming
Help for the newer player
- Assists can be activated individually to help you play the game.
- A health bar option gives three hits per life instead of the one-hit kill mode.
- Three difficulty settings plus additional challenge options.
If one of you fails: Every hit counts, so a player who gets hit often sees the Game Over screen.
Ways to split the work
- Turn on the health bar before a hard level; it gives three hits per life.
- Pick characters with different abilities so each player has a clear job.
Sources (8, 5 official) and how we rate
- 1. KONAMI (official game site) (official): Story Mode up to two players; Arcade Mode up to four. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 2. KONAMI (official game site) (official): Story Mode is playable with one or two players. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 3. KONAMI (PlayStation Store page) (official): Multiple playable characters with distinct abilities. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 4. KONAMI (PlayStation Store page) (official): Difficulty can be adjusted and assists activated individually. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 5. KONAMI (PlayStation Store page) (official): Three difficulty settings plus additional challenge options. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 6. GodisaGeek (Lyle Pendle review, March 11 2024): Health bar option gives three hits per life; one-hit kill mode is also available. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 7. GodisaGeek (Lyle Pendle review, March 11 2024): Each character has a specific ability or two that the player needs. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 8. GodisaGeek (Lyle Pendle review, March 11 2024): Every hit counts; many Game Over screens. Read Oct 18, 2026.
Both ratings use one fixed scale for every game, higher is easier for a mixed pair; the levels are on our data page. Roles are split by experience, never by who the players are.
Trailer and screenshots
Every store, field by field
PS5
- Players on one console
- 1-4 players
- Online
- Not listed
- ESRB rating
- Teen (Fantasy Violence, Mild Blood, Mild Language)
- Regular price
- $39.99
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Mar 12, 2024
Show all fields (6 this store does not have)
- Local wireless (several consoles): not a store field
- Shared/split screen label: not a store field
- Crossplay: not a store field
- Remote Play Together: not a store field
- Steam Deck: not a store field
- Play modes: not a store field
Official page (PlayStation Store)Checked Oct 18, 2026
Xbox Series X|S
- Players on one console
- 2-4 players (co-op)
- Online
- Not listed
- Shared/split screen label
- No
- Crossplay
- No
- ESRB rating
- Teen (Fantasy Violence, Mild Blood, Mild Language)
- Regular price
- $39.99
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Jun 20, 2024
Show all fields (4 this store does not have)
- Local wireless (several consoles): not a store field
- Remote Play Together: not a store field
- Steam Deck: not a store field
- Play modes: not a store field
Official page (Microsoft Store (Xbox))Checked Oct 18, 2026
Switch
- Players on one console
- 1-4 players
- Local wireless (several consoles)
- Not listed
- Online
- Not listed
- ESRB rating
- Teen (Fantasy Violence, Mild Blood, Mild Language)
- Regular price
- $39.99
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Mar 12, 2024
- Play modes
- TV mode, Tabletop mode, Handheld mode
Show all fields (4 this store does not have)
- Shared/split screen label: not a store field
- Crossplay: not a store field
- Remote Play Together: not a store field
- Steam Deck: not a store field
Official page (Nintendo.com store)Checked Oct 18, 2026
PC (Steam)
- Players on one console
- Local co-op listed (no player count on Steam)
- Online
- No online play listed
- Shared/split screen label
- Yes
- Crossplay
- No
- Remote Play Together
- Yes
- Steam Deck
- Verified
- ESRB rating
- Teen (Fantasy Violence, Mild Blood, Mild Language)
- Regular price
- $39.99
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Mar 12, 2024
Show all fields (2 this store does not have)
- Local wireless (several consoles): not a store field
- Play modes: not a store field
Official page (Steam)Checked Oct 18, 2026
"Not a store field" means that store has no such label at all; "Not listed" means the store has the field and left it empty. Genres: Adventure, Action, Shooter, Platformer.
Is this good for couch co-op?
Played it on one sofa? Tell other readers. One anonymous vote per game, no account.
Loading votes…
If you liked this co-op, try
All of these: Both seat 4 on Xbox Series X|S · Adventure + Action · Remote Play Together
Image: META Publishing via Microsoft StoreLocal4Biped 2Rated Everyone
Image: Seaven Studio via Microsoft StoreLocal4BrotatoRated Everyone 10+
Image: Inertia Game Studios via Microsoft StoreLocal4CatastronautsRated Everyone 10+
Image: SMG Studio via Microsoft StoreLocal4Death SquaredRated Everyone
Picked by shared database fields only (player count, screen type, genre, drop-in, console), not by popularity.