PS5 · Xbox Series X|S · Switch · PC (Steam)
Cult of the Lamb co-op
On one console, the stores list 1-2 players on PS5, 2 players on Xbox Series X|S, 1-2 players on Switch.
- Co-op
- Remote Play Together
- Tabletop OK
Co-op or versus: from the Steam categories.
Quick answer for your console
Yes: 1-2 players on one PS5
Grab a second controller.
- Split or shared screen: not stated by PlayStation Store
- Online: Not listed
- Regular price $24.09
- PlayStation Store, checked Oct 18, 2026
Yes: 2 players on one Xbox Series X|S
Grab a second controller.
- The store's Shared/split screen label is on; it does not say which
- Online: Not listed
- Regular price $24.99
- Microsoft Store (Xbox), checked Oct 18, 2026
Yes: 1-2 players on one Switch
Grab a second controller.
- Split or shared screen: not stated by Nintendo.com store
- Controllers: Nintendo.com store does not say whether one Joy-Con each is enough
- Online: Not listed
- Regular price $24.99
- Nintendo.com store, checked Oct 18, 2026
Yes: Steam lists local co-op on one PC
Grab a second controller.
- The store's Shared/split screen label is on; it does not say which
- Online: No online play listed
- Remote Play Together: a friend joins your local game over the internet
- Steam Deck: Verified
- Regular price $24.99
- Steam, checked Oct 18, 2026
Same console or online
Up to 2 players
- PS5: 1-2 players
- Xbox Series X|S: 2 players (multiplayer)
- Switch: 1-2 players
- PC (Steam): Local co-op listed (no player count on Steam)
- Drop-in: no store description says so (we only read store text for this). Not sure? See role notes
- Co-op campaign (named in the Microsoft Store (Xbox) description)
Not listed by any store
- Steam Remote Play Together: friends can join a local session over the internet
How to split the roles
When one of you plays more than the other: who takes which seat in Cult of the Lamb, and why.
The Lamb
The Lamb is Player 1 in the campaign.
The Goat, swapping to a weapon that suits them
The Lamb and the Goat can swap weapons.
Skill-gap friendly · higher is easier
3out of 5
Difficulty choice and weapon swaps; failed runs start over.
General help only: a difficulty choice, drop-in/drop-out, quick respawn, per-player settings or turn-based pace. Both players still face the same core challenge.
Easy to coordinate · higher is easier
2out of 3 · Medium
Bonuses reward fighting back-to-back and syncing attacks.
Medium: regular hand-offs, timed moves together or shared decisions.
The roles Different jobs
Player 1 is the Lamb and Player 2 the Goat; the store lists no different abilities.
The Lamb (Player 1) Moderate
Moderate seat: planning and timing. Suits the more experienced player.
Leads the campaign and the cult.
- Planning
- Timing
The Goat (Player 2) Moderate
Moderate seat: timing. Suits the newer player.
Fights alongside the Lamb; can swap weapons with the Lamb.
- Timing
Help for the newer player
- Store tag: "Choose your difficulty".
- Weapon swap, back-to-back damage bonus, synced critical hits.
If one of you fails: Store tag: "Start over if you fail" (no detail on per-player loss).
Ways to split the work
- Swap weapons so each player has the one that suits them.
- Fight back-to-back for extra damage, and sync attacks for critical hits.
Sources (5, 5 official) and how we rate
- 1. Nintendo (official store page) (official): Local co-op: one player is the Lamb, the other the Goat, for the whole campaign. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 2. Nintendo (official store page) (official): The Lamb and the Goat can swap weapons and get bonuses for back-to-back or synced attacks. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 3. Nintendo (official store page) (official): The store lists the feature tag "Choose your difficulty". Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 4. Nintendo (official store page) (official): The store lists the feature tag "Start over if you fail". Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 5. Nintendo (official store page) (official): Some relics and tarot cards were designed with co-op in mind. Read Oct 18, 2026.
Both ratings use one fixed scale for every game, higher is easier for a mixed pair; the levels are on our data page. Roles are split by experience, never by who the players are.
Trailer and screenshots
Every store, field by field
PS5
- Players on one console
- 1-2 players
- Online
- Not listed
- ESRB rating
- Teen (Blood, Crude Humor, Fantasy Violence)
- Regular price
- $24.09
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Aug 11, 2022
Show all fields (6 this store does not have)
- Local wireless (several consoles): not a store field
- Shared/split screen label: not a store field
- Crossplay: not a store field
- Remote Play Together: not a store field
- Steam Deck: not a store field
- Play modes: not a store field
Official page (PlayStation Store)Checked Oct 18, 2026
Xbox Series X|S
- Players on one console
- 2 players (multiplayer)
- Online
- Not listed
- Shared/split screen label
- Yes
- Crossplay
- No
- ESRB rating
- Teen (Fantasy Violence, Crude Humor, Blood)
- Regular price
- $24.99
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Aug 11, 2022
Show all fields (4 this store does not have)
- Local wireless (several consoles): not a store field
- Remote Play Together: not a store field
- Steam Deck: not a store field
- Play modes: not a store field
Official page (Microsoft Store (Xbox))Checked Oct 18, 2026
Switch
- Players on one console
- 1-2 players
- Local wireless (several consoles)
- Not listed
- Online
- Not listed
- ESRB rating
- Teen (Blood, Crude Humor, Fantasy Violence)
- Regular price
- $24.99
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Aug 11, 2022
- Play modes
- TV mode, Tabletop mode, Handheld mode
Show all fields (4 this store does not have)
- Shared/split screen label: not a store field
- Crossplay: not a store field
- Remote Play Together: not a store field
- Steam Deck: not a store field
Official page (Nintendo.com store)Checked Oct 18, 2026
PC (Steam)
- Players on one console
- Local co-op listed (no player count on Steam)
- Online
- No online play listed
- Shared/split screen label
- Yes
- Crossplay
- No
- Remote Play Together
- Yes
- Steam Deck
- Verified
- ESRB rating
- Not listed
- Regular price
- $24.99
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Aug 11, 2022
Show all fields (2 this store does not have)
- Local wireless (several consoles): not a store field
- Play modes: not a store field
Official page (Steam)Checked Oct 18, 2026
"Not a store field" means that store has no such label at all; "Not listed" means the store has the field and left it empty. Genres: Adventure, Action, RPG, Strategy.
Is this good for couch co-op?
Played it on one sofa? Tell other readers. One anonymous vote per game, no account.
Loading votes…
If you liked this co-op, try
All of these: Adventure + Action · Remote Play Together
Image: Electronic Arts via Microsoft StoreLocal2A Way OutBoth seat 2 on Xbox Series X|S
Image: Larian Studios via Microsoft StoreLocal2Baldur's Gate 3Both seat 2 on PS5
Image: META Publishing via Microsoft StoreLocal2BipedBoth seat 2 on Xbox Series X|S
Image: Atari, Infogrames via Microsoft StoreLocal2Bread & FredBoth seat 2 on Xbox Series X|S
Picked by shared database fields only (player count, screen type, genre, drop-in, console), not by popularity.