Xbox Series X|S · Switch · PC (Steam)
Cuphead co-op
On one console, the stores list 2 players on Xbox Series X|S, 1-2 players on Switch.
- Co-op
- Remote Play Together
- Tabletop OK
Co-op or versus: from the Microsoft Store co-op fields and Steam categories.
Quick answer for your console
Yes: 2 players on one Xbox Series X|S
Grab a second controller.
- Split or shared screen: not stated by Microsoft Store (Xbox)
- Online: Not listed
- Regular price $19.99
- Microsoft Store (Xbox), checked Oct 18, 2026
Yes: 1-2 players on one Switch
Grab a second controller.
- Split or shared screen: not stated by Nintendo.com store
- Controllers: Nintendo.com store does not say whether one Joy-Con each is enough
- Online: Not listed
- Regular price $19.99
- Nintendo.com store, checked Oct 18, 2026
Yes: Steam lists local co-op on one PC
Grab a second controller.
- The store's Shared/split screen label is on; it does not say which
- Online: No online play listed
- Remote Play Together: a friend joins your local game over the internet
- Steam Deck: Verified
- Regular price $19.99
- Steam, checked Oct 18, 2026
Same console or online
Up to 2 players
- Xbox Series X|S: 2 players (co-op)
- Switch: 1-2 players
- PC (Steam): Local co-op listed (no player count on Steam)
- Drop-in: no store description says so (we only read store text for this). Not sure? See role notes
Not listed by any store
- Steam Remote Play Together: friends can join a local session over the internet
How to split the roles
When one of you plays more than the other: who takes which seat in Cuphead, and why.
Stay alive to bring the partner back
A fallen player cannot be resurrected without the other player.
Equip the Parry Sugar charm
Parry Sugar makes parries automatic.
Skill-gap friendly · higher is easier
2out of 5
Revive, an auto-parry charm and a difficulty choice, but both players must aim and dodge under pressure.
Little help: no assist found or only minor aids; both players must aim, time jumps or handle physics about equally well.
Easy to coordinate · higher is easier
3out of 3 · Easy
Each player fights on their own; revives are the main interaction.
Easy: you can mostly play side by side; little talking needed.
The roles Same moves for both
Cuphead and Mugman play the same way.
Cuphead or Mugman Demanding
Demanding seat: aim and timing.
Runs, shoots and parries through boss fights.
- Aim
- Timing
Help for the newer player
- The partner can resurrect a fallen player.
- Parry Sugar charm: automatic parry.
- Store tag: "Choose your difficulty".
If one of you fails: A fallen player comes back only with the partner's help.
Ways to split the work
- The stronger player should focus on surviving: a fallen partner can only come back with their help.
- Give the newer player the Parry Sugar charm for automatic parries.
- Use the difficulty choice the store lists before a tough boss.
Sources (5, 2 official) and how we rate
- 1. Nintendo (official store page) (official): Play as Cuphead or Mugman, solo or local co-op. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 2. Cuphead Wiki (wiki.gg): Player 1 can also choose Mugman. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 3. Cuphead Wiki (wiki.gg): A fallen player can only be resurrected with the partner's help. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 4. Cuphead Wiki (wiki.gg): The Parry Sugar charm makes parries automatic. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 5. Nintendo (official store page) (official): The store lists the feature tag "Choose your difficulty". Read Oct 18, 2026.
Both ratings use one fixed scale for every game, higher is easier for a mixed pair; the levels are on our data page. Roles are split by experience, never by who the players are.
Trailer and screenshots
Every store, field by field
Xbox Series X|S
- Players on one console
- 2 players (co-op)
- Online
- Not listed
- Shared/split screen label
- No
- Crossplay
- No
- ESRB rating
- Everyone 10+ (Fantasy Violence, Mild Language, Use of Alcohol and Tobacco)
- Regular price
- $19.99
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Sep 29, 2017
Show all fields (4 this store does not have)
- Local wireless (several consoles): not a store field
- Remote Play Together: not a store field
- Steam Deck: not a store field
- Play modes: not a store field
Official page (Microsoft Store (Xbox))Checked Oct 18, 2026
Switch
- Players on one console
- 1-2 players
- Local wireless (several consoles)
- Not listed
- Online
- Not listed
- ESRB rating
- Everyone 10+ (Fantasy Violence, Mild Language, Use of Alcohol and Tobacco)
- Regular price
- $19.99
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Apr 18, 2019
- Play modes
- TV mode, Tabletop mode, Handheld mode
Show all fields (4 this store does not have)
- Shared/split screen label: not a store field
- Crossplay: not a store field
- Remote Play Together: not a store field
- Steam Deck: not a store field
Official page (Nintendo.com store)Checked Oct 18, 2026
PC (Steam)
- Players on one console
- Local co-op listed (no player count on Steam)
- Online
- No online play listed
- Shared/split screen label
- Yes
- Crossplay
- No
- Remote Play Together
- Yes
- Steam Deck
- Verified
- ESRB rating
- Everyone 10+ (Fantasy Violence, Mild Language, Use of Alcohol And Tobacco)
- Regular price
- $19.99
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Sep 29, 2017
Show all fields (2 this store does not have)
- Local wireless (several consoles): not a store field
- Play modes: not a store field
Official page (Steam)Checked Oct 18, 2026
"Not a store field" means that store has no such label at all; "Not listed" means the store has the field and left it empty. Genres: Platformer.
Is this good for couch co-op?
Played it on one sofa? Tell other readers. One anonymous vote per game, no account.
Loading votes…
If you liked this co-op, try
All of these: Both seat 2 on Xbox Series X|S · Platformer · Remote Play Together
Image: META Publishing via Microsoft StoreLocal2BipedRated Everyone
Image: Atari, Infogrames via Microsoft StoreLocal2Bread & FredRated Everyone
Image: Curve Games via Microsoft StoreLocal2Human: Fall FlatRated Everyone
Image: Sold Out Sales and Marketing Ltd. via Microsoft StoreLocal2KeyWeRated Everyone
Picked by shared database fields only (player count, screen type, genre, drop-in, console), not by popularity.