Switch 2 · Switch
Pikmin 4 co-op
On one console, the stores list 1-2 players on Switch 2, 1-2 players on Switch; online play goes up to 2.
- Co-op
- Mixed skill OK
- Tabletop OK
- Online needs NSO
Co-op per Nintendo (official store page), cited in our role notes below. No store field says co-op.
Quick answer for your console
Yes: 1-2 players on one Switch 2
Grab a second controller.
- Split or shared screen: not stated by Nintendo.com store
- Controllers: Nintendo.com store does not say whether one Joy-Con each is enough
- Online: 2 players, needs Nintendo Switch Online
- Nintendo.com store, checked Oct 18, 2026
Yes: 1-2 players on one Switch
Grab a second controller.
- Split or shared screen: not stated by Nintendo.com store
- Controllers: Nintendo.com store does not say whether one Joy-Con each is enough
- Online: Not listed
- Regular price $59.99
- Nintendo.com store, checked Oct 18, 2026
Same console or online
Up to 2 players
- Switch 2: 1-2 players
- Switch: 1-2 players
- Drop-in: no store description says so (we only read store text for this). Not sure? See role notes
Up to 2 players
- Switch 2: 2 players, needs Nintendo Switch Online
How to split the roles
When one of you plays more than the other: who takes which seat in Pikmin 4, and why.
Leader (Player 1)
Player 1 leads the Pikmin; Player 2 only supports with the pointer.
Support (Player 2)
Nintendo suggests this seat for a second player who isn't ready to lead the squad.
Skill-gap friendly · higher is easier
4out of 5
Official support seat for a player not ready to lead, plus a Relaxed option.
Official help aimed at a weaker or newer player: assist or beginner mode, a support seat, a way to carry or rescue a partner, or a game built for young children. No sourced invulnerability.
Easy to coordinate · higher is easier
2out of 3 · Medium
Support calls out item use and stuns while the leader plans.
Medium: regular hand-offs, timed moves together or shared decisions.
The roles Different jobs
Player 1 leads the Pikmin; Player 2 supports with a pointer.
Leader (Player 1) Demanding
Demanding seat: planning and multitasking. Suits the more experienced player.
Leads the Pikmin squad and plans the day.
- Planning
- Multitasking
Support (Player 2) Light
Light seat: aim. Suits the newer player.
Throws pebbles to stun enemies and uses inventory items with an on-screen pointer.
- Aim
Help for the newer player
- Player 2 supports with a pointer: stun enemies, use items.
- Relaxed option added in an update.
Ways to split the work
- If the second player isn't ready to lead, they join as support: stun enemies and use items while Player 1 leads the Pikmin.
- Try the Relaxed option for a gentler game.
Sources (3, 3 official) and how we rate
- 1. Nintendo (official store page) (official): Player 2 uses an on-screen pointer to throw pebbles that stun enemies and to use inventory items. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 2. Nintendo (official What's New article) (official): A second player not ready to lead can help while Player 1 leads the Pikmin. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 3. Nintendo (official store page) (official): Relaxed and Fierce options were added. Read Oct 18, 2026.
Both ratings use one fixed scale for every game, higher is easier for a mixed pair; the levels are on our data page. Roles are split by experience, never by who the players are.
Screenshots
Every store, field by field
Switch 2
- Players on one console
- 1-2 players
- Local wireless (several consoles)
- 2 players
- Online
- 2 players, needs Nintendo Switch Online
- ESRB rating
- Everyone 10+ (Comic Mischief, Fantasy Violence)
- Regular price
- Price not shown: the store page had no regular price that day
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Nov 12, 2026
- Play modes
- TV mode, Tabletop mode, Handheld mode
Official page (Nintendo.com store)Checked Oct 18, 2026
Switch
- Players on one console
- 1-2 players
- Local wireless (several consoles)
- Not listed
- Online
- Not listed
- ESRB rating
- Everyone 10+ (Comic Mischief, Fantasy Violence)
- Regular price
- $59.99
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Jul 21, 2023
- Play modes
- TV mode, Tabletop mode, Handheld mode
Official page (Nintendo.com store)Checked Oct 18, 2026
"Not a store field" means that store has no such label at all; "Not listed" means the store has the field and left it empty. Genres: not listed.
Where the consoles differ
- Online players: Switch 2 2 · Switch not listed
Is this good for couch co-op?
Played it on one sofa? Tell other readers. One anonymous vote per game, no account.
Loading votes…
If you liked this co-op, try
All of these: Both seat 2 on Switch
Image: META Publishing via Microsoft StoreLocal2BipedRated Everyone
Image: Atari, Infogrames via Microsoft StoreLocal2Bread & FredRated Everyone
Image: Seaven Studio via Microsoft StoreLocal4BrotatoRated Everyone 10+
Image: Nintendo via NintendoLocal2Captain Toad: Treasure TrackerRated Everyone
Picked by shared database fields only (player count, screen type, genre, drop-in, console), not by popularity.