PS5 · Xbox Series X|S · Switch · PC (Steam)
Sonic Superstars co-op and versus
On one console, the stores list 1-4 players on PS5, 2-4 players on Xbox Series X|S, 1-4 players on Switch; online play goes up to 8.
- Co-op + versus
- Drop-in
- Remote Play Together
- Tabletop OK
- Crossplay
- Online needs PS Plus
- Online needs NSO
Co-op or versus: from the Microsoft Store co-op fields and Steam categories.
Quick answer for your console
Yes: 1-4 players on one PS5
Grab a second controller.
- Split or shared screen: not stated by PlayStation Store
- Online: 2-8 players, needs PlayStation Plus
- Regular price $59.99
- PlayStation Store, checked Oct 18, 2026
Yes: 2-4 players on one Xbox Series X|S
Grab a second controller.
- The store's Shared/split screen label is on; it does not say which
- Online: 2-8 players (multiplayer)
- Regular price $59.99
- Microsoft Store (Xbox), checked Oct 18, 2026
Yes: 1-4 players on one Switch
Grab a second controller.
- Split or shared screen: not stated by Nintendo.com store
- Controllers: Nintendo.com store does not say whether one Joy-Con each is enough
- Online: 1-8 players, needs Nintendo Switch Online
- Regular price $59.99
- Nintendo.com store, checked Oct 18, 2026
Yes: Steam lists local co-op on one PC
Grab a second controller.
- The store's Shared/split screen label is on; it does not say which
- Online: Online play listed
- Crossplay listed by the store
- Remote Play Together: a friend joins your local game over the internet
- Steam Deck: Verified
- Regular price $39.99
- Steam, checked Oct 18, 2026
Same console or online
Up to 4 players
- PS5: 1-4 players
- Xbox Series X|S: 2-4 players (co-op)
- Switch: 1-4 players
- PC (Steam): Local co-op listed (no player count on Steam)
- Drop-in play (named in the PlayStation Store description)
Up to 8 players
- PS5: 2-8 players, needs PlayStation Plus
- Xbox Series X|S: 2-8 players (multiplayer)
- Switch: 1-8 players, needs Nintendo Switch Online
- PC (Steam): Online play listed
- Crossplay listed by Steam
- Steam Remote Play Together: friends can join a local session over the internet
How to split the roles
When one of you plays more than the other: who takes which seat in Sonic Superstars, and why.
Based on the store listing only. We found no official guide or manual that goes further than the store page, so the advice below stays general.
Lead the run through each stage
Every player runs the same campaign; the store names no helper role.
Drop in when ready and drop out when tired
The campaign supports drop-in, drop-out local co-op.
Skill-gap friendly · higher is easier
3out of 5
Drop-in/drop-out only; no beginner option on the store page.
General help only: a difficulty choice, drop-in/drop-out, quick respawn, per-player settings or turn-based pace. Both players still face the same core challenge.
Easy to coordinate · higher is easier
3out of 3 · Easy
Players run the stage side by side.
Easy: you can mostly play side by side; little talking needed.
The roles Same moves for both
Four playable characters; the store page does not describe ability differences.
Sonic, Tails, Knuckles or Amy Moderate
Moderate seat: platforming and timing.
Run the 2D stages and use Emerald powers.
- Platforming
- Timing
Help for the newer player
- Drop-in, drop-out 4-player local co-op through the whole campaign.
Ways to split the work
- The newer player can drop in for a stage and drop out at any time.
- Let each player pick their own character: Sonic, Tails, Knuckles or Amy.
Sources (2, 2 official) and how we rate
- 1. Nintendo (official store page) (official): Play as Sonic, Tails, Knuckles and Amy with new Emerald powers. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 2. Nintendo (official store page) (official): The whole campaign supports drop-in, drop-out 4-player local co-op. Read Oct 18, 2026.
Both ratings use one fixed scale for every game, higher is easier for a mixed pair; the levels are on our data page. Roles are split by experience, never by who the players are.
Screenshots
Every store, field by field
PS5
- Players on one console
- 1-4 players
- Online
- 2-8 players, needs PlayStation Plus
- ESRB rating
- Everyone (Mild Fantasy Violence)
- Regular price
- $59.99
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Oct 17, 2023
Show all fields (6 this store does not have)
- Local wireless (several consoles): not a store field
- Shared/split screen label: not a store field
- Crossplay: not a store field
- Remote Play Together: not a store field
- Steam Deck: not a store field
- Play modes: not a store field
Official page (PlayStation Store)Checked Oct 18, 2026
Xbox Series X|S
- Players on one console
- 2-4 players (co-op)
- Online
- 2-8 players (multiplayer)
- Shared/split screen label
- Yes
- Crossplay
- No
- ESRB rating
- Everyone (Mild Fantasy Violence)
- Regular price
- $59.99
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Oct 17, 2023
Show all fields (4 this store does not have)
- Local wireless (several consoles): not a store field
- Remote Play Together: not a store field
- Steam Deck: not a store field
- Play modes: not a store field
Official page (Microsoft Store (Xbox))Checked Oct 18, 2026
Switch
- Players on one console
- 1-4 players
- Local wireless (several consoles)
- Not listed
- Online
- 1-8 players, needs Nintendo Switch Online
- ESRB rating
- Everyone (Mild Fantasy Violence, In-Game Purchases)
- Regular price
- $59.99
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Oct 17, 2023
- Play modes
- TV mode, Tabletop mode, Handheld mode
Show all fields (4 this store does not have)
- Shared/split screen label: not a store field
- Crossplay: not a store field
- Remote Play Together: not a store field
- Steam Deck: not a store field
Official page (Nintendo.com store)Checked Oct 18, 2026
PC (Steam)
- Players on one console
- Local co-op listed (no player count on Steam)
- Online
- Online play listed
- Shared/split screen label
- Yes
- Crossplay
- Yes
- Remote Play Together
- Yes
- Steam Deck
- Verified
- ESRB rating
- Everyone (Mild Fantasy Violence)
- Regular price
- $39.99
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Oct 17, 2023
Show all fields (2 this store does not have)
- Local wireless (several consoles): not a store field
- Play modes: not a store field
Official page (Steam)Checked Oct 18, 2026
"Not a store field" means that store has no such label at all; "Not listed" means the store has the field and left it empty. Genres: Adventure, Action, Family, Platformer.
Is this good for couch co-op?
Played it on one sofa? Tell other readers. One anonymous vote per game, no account.
Loading votes…
If you liked this co-op, try
All of these: Remote Play Together
Image: Dotemu via Microsoft StoreLocal4Marvel Cosmic InvasionBoth seat 4 on PS5 · Adventure + Action · Drop-in co-op
Image: META Publishing via Microsoft StoreLocal4Biped 2Both seat 4 on Xbox Series X|S · Adventure + Action
Image: Ubisoft via Microsoft StoreLocal4BrawlhallaBoth seat 4 on Xbox Series X|S · Family + Platformer
Image: Seaven Studio via Microsoft StoreLocal4BrotatoBoth seat 4 on Xbox Series X|S · Adventure + Action
Picked by shared database fields only (player count, screen type, genre, drop-in, console), not by popularity.