Xbox Series X|S · Switch 2 · Switch · PC (Steam)
Stardew Valley co-op
Steam lists local co-op on one PC; online play goes up to 8.
- Co-op
- Remote Play Together
- Online needs NSO
Co-op or versus: from the Microsoft Store co-op fields and Steam categories.
Quick answer for your console
Online only on Xbox Series X|S
- Split or shared screen: not stated by Microsoft Store (Xbox)
- Online: 2-4 players (co-op)
- Regular price $14.99
- In Game Pass
- Microsoft Store (Xbox), checked Oct 18, 2026
Online only on Switch 2
- Split or shared screen: not stated by Nintendo.com store
- Controllers: Nintendo.com store does not say whether one Joy-Con each is enough
- Online: 1-8 players, needs Nintendo Switch Online
- Regular price $14.99
- Nintendo.com store, checked Oct 18, 2026
Online only on Switch
- Split or shared screen: not stated by Nintendo.com store
- Controllers: Nintendo.com store does not say whether one Joy-Con each is enough
- Online: 1-4 players, needs Nintendo Switch Online
- Regular price $14.99
- Nintendo.com store, checked Oct 18, 2026
Yes: Steam lists local co-op on one PC
Grab a second controller.
- The store's Shared/split screen label is on; it does not say which
- Online: Online play listed
- Remote Play Together: a friend joins your local game over the internet
- Steam Deck: Verified
- Regular price $14.99
- Steam, checked Oct 18, 2026
Same console or online
Up to 1 players
- PC (Steam): Local co-op listed (no player count on Steam)
- Drop-in: no store description says so (we only read store text for this). Not sure? See role notes
Up to 8 players
- Xbox Series X|S: 2-4 players (co-op)
- Switch 2: 1-8 players, needs Nintendo Switch Online
- Switch: 1-4 players, needs Nintendo Switch Online
- PC (Steam): Online play listed
- Online only on Xbox Series X|S, Switch 2, Switch.
- Steam Remote Play Together: friends can join a local session over the internet
How to split the roles
When one of you plays more than the other: who takes which seat in Stardew Valley, and why.
Host the farm
The world creator is the host; others join as farmhands.
Farmhand, levelling their own skills
Each player has their own energy and skills, and experience goes to whoever does the action.
Skill-gap friendly · higher is easier
3out of 5
Independent progress lets each player work at their own level; no assist mode.
General help only: a difficulty choice, drop-in/drop-out, quick respawn, per-player settings or turn-based pace. Both players still face the same core challenge.
Easy to coordinate · higher is easier
3out of 3 · Easy
Players can work on separate tasks; shared decisions are few.
Easy: you can mostly play side by side; little talking needed.
The roles Same moves for both
Host and farmhands play the same game; each has their own skills and energy.
Host Light
Light seat: planning. Suits the more experienced player.
Creates and hosts the farm.
- Planning
Farmhand Light
Light seat: planning. Suits the newer player.
Joins the host's farm with their own energy, skills and experience.
- Planning
Help for the newer player
- Separate energy, skills and experience per player.
- Split-screen time pauses when all players are in menus or cutscenes.
Ways to split the work
- Decide at setup whether to pool money or split it.
- Quest difficulty follows the highest-level player, so the newer player can lean on shared quests.
- In split-screen, time pauses only when every player is in a menu or cutscene.
Sources (9, 1 official) and how we rate
- 1. Stardew Valley Wiki: 1-8 players can share a world through split-screen, LAN or IP. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 2. Stardew Valley Wiki: On Switch, split-screen is limited to two players. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 3. Stardew Valley Wiki: The world creator is the host; others are farmhands. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 4. Stardew Valley Wiki: Each player has their own energy bar, skills and NPC relationships. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 5. Stardew Valley Wiki: Experience goes to whoever performs the action. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 6. Stardew Valley Wiki: Money can be pooled or split between players. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 7. Stardew Valley Wiki: In split-screen, time pauses when all players are in a menu or cutscene. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 8. Stardew Valley Wiki: Quests set difficulty by the highest-level player. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 9. Steam store data via data/games/games.json (official) (official): Steam lists the categories Shared/Split Screen Co-op and Remote Play Together (CouchCoopDesk database, checked 2026-10-18). Read Oct 18, 2026.
Both ratings use one fixed scale for every game, higher is easier for a mixed pair; the levels are on our data page. Roles are split by experience, never by who the players are.
Trailer and screenshots
Every store, field by field
Xbox Series X|S
- Players on one console
- Not listed
- Online
- 2-4 players (co-op)
- Shared/split screen label
- No
- Crossplay
- No
- ESRB rating
- Everyone 10+ (Fantasy Violence, Mild Blood, Mild Language, Simulated Gambling, Use of Alcohol and Tobacco)
- Regular price
- $14.99
- Subscription
- Game Pass
- Release date
- Dec 14, 2016
Show all fields (4 this store does not have)
- Local wireless (several consoles): not a store field
- Remote Play Together: not a store field
- Steam Deck: not a store field
- Play modes: not a store field
Official page (Microsoft Store (Xbox))Checked Oct 18, 2026
Switch 2
- Players on one console
- 1 player
- Local wireless (several consoles)
- 1-4 players
- Online
- 1-8 players, needs Nintendo Switch Online
- ESRB rating
- Everyone 10+ (Fantasy Violence, Mild Blood, Mild Language, Simulated Gambling, Use of Alcohol and Tobacco, Users Interact)
- Regular price
- $14.99
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Dec 25, 2025
- Play modes
- TV mode, Tabletop mode, Handheld mode
Show all fields (4 this store does not have)
- Shared/split screen label: not a store field
- Crossplay: not a store field
- Remote Play Together: not a store field
- Steam Deck: not a store field
Official page (Nintendo.com store)Checked Oct 18, 2026
Switch
- Players on one console
- 1 player
- Local wireless (several consoles)
- 1 players
- Online
- 1-4 players, needs Nintendo Switch Online
- ESRB rating
- Everyone 10+ (Fantasy Violence, Mild Blood, Mild Language, Simulated Gambling, Use of Alcohol, Use of Tobacco, Users Interact)
- Regular price
- $14.99
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Oct 5, 2017
- Play modes
- TV mode, Tabletop mode, Handheld mode
Show all fields (4 this store does not have)
- Shared/split screen label: not a store field
- Crossplay: not a store field
- Remote Play Together: not a store field
- Steam Deck: not a store field
Official page (Nintendo.com store)Checked Oct 18, 2026
PC (Steam)
- Players on one console
- Local co-op listed (no player count on Steam)
- Online
- Online play listed
- Shared/split screen label
- Yes
- Crossplay
- No
- Remote Play Together
- Yes
- Steam Deck
- Verified
- ESRB rating
- Everyone 10+ (Fantasy Violence, Mild Blood, Mild Language, Use of Alcohol and Tobacco, Simulated Gambling)
- Regular price
- $14.99
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Feb 26, 2016
Show all fields (2 this store does not have)
- Local wireless (several consoles): not a store field
- Play modes: not a store field
Official page (Steam)Checked Oct 18, 2026
"Not a store field" means that store has no such label at all; "Not listed" means the store has the field and left it empty. Genres: RPG, Simulation, Adventure, Action.
Where the consoles differ
- Players on one console: Xbox Series X|S not listed · Switch 2 1 · Switch 1
- Online players: Xbox Series X|S 4 · Switch 2 8 · Switch 4
Is this good for couch co-op?
Played it on one sofa? Tell other readers. One anonymous vote per game, no account.
Loading votes…
If you liked this co-op, try
All of these: Remote Play Together
Image: Electronic Arts via Microsoft StoreLocal2A Way OutAdventure + Action
Image: Larian Studios via Microsoft StoreLocal2Baldur's Gate 3RPG + Adventure
Image: META Publishing via Microsoft StoreLocal2BipedAdventure + Action
Image: META Publishing via Microsoft StoreLocal4Biped 2Adventure + Action
Picked by shared database fields only (player count, screen type, genre, drop-in, console), not by popularity.