Xbox Series X|S · Switch · PC (Steam)
Trine 4: The Nightmare Prince co-op
On one console, the stores list 2-4 players on Xbox Series X|S, 1-4 players on Switch; online play goes up to 4.
- Co-op
- Remote Play Together
- Tabletop OK
- Online needs NSO
Co-op or versus: from the Microsoft Store co-op fields and Steam categories.
Quick answer for your console
Yes: 2-4 players on one Xbox Series X|S
Grab a second controller.
- Split or shared screen: not stated by Microsoft Store (Xbox)
- Online: 2-4 players (co-op)
- Regular price $29.99
- Microsoft Store (Xbox), checked Oct 18, 2026
Yes: 1-4 players on one Switch
Grab a second controller.
- Split or shared screen: not stated by Nintendo.com store
- Controllers: Nintendo.com store does not say whether one Joy-Con each is enough
- Online: 1-4 players, needs Nintendo Switch Online
- Regular price $29.99
- Nintendo.com store, checked Oct 18, 2026
Yes: Steam lists local co-op on one PC
Grab a second controller.
- The store's Shared/split screen label is on; it does not say which
- Online: Online play listed
- Remote Play Together: a friend joins your local game over the internet
- Steam Deck: Verified
- Regular price $29.99
- Steam, checked Oct 18, 2026
Same console or online
Up to 4 players
- Xbox Series X|S: 2-4 players (co-op)
- Switch: 1-4 players
- PC (Steam): Local co-op listed (no player count on Steam)
- Drop-in: no store description says so (we only read store text for this). Not sure? See role notes
Up to 4 players
- Xbox Series X|S: 2-4 players (co-op)
- Switch: 1-4 players, needs Nintendo Switch Online
- PC (Steam): Online play listed
- Steam Remote Play Together: friends can join a local session over the internet
How to split the roles
When one of you plays more than the other: who takes which seat in Trine 4: The Nightmare Prince, and why.
Amadeus the Wizard
His boxes solve switches and platforming puzzles the level is built around.
Pontius the Knight
His kit is a sword and shield, a direct combat role.
Skill-gap friendly · higher is easier
3out of 5
Difficulty choice and unlimited mode give room, but puzzles need the heroes' skills combined.
General help only: a difficulty choice, drop-in/drop-out, quick respawn, per-player settings or turn-based pace. Both players still face the same core challenge.
Easy to coordinate · higher is easier
2out of 3 · Medium
Puzzles combine the three heroes' skills.
Medium: regular hand-offs, timed moves together or shared decisions.
The roles Different jobs
Classic mode gives each player a different hero; unlimited mode allows duplicates.
Amadeus the Wizard Moderate
Moderate seat: puzzles and planning. Suits the more experienced player.
Conjures boxes to press switches and build platforms.
- Puzzles
- Planning
Pontius the Knight Light
Light seat: timing. Suits the newer player.
Fights with sword and shield.
- Timing
Zoya the Thief Moderate
Moderate seat: platforming.
Third hero (no opened source describes her tools).
- Platforming
Help for the newer player
- Challenges tailored to the number of players.
- Unlimited mode lets everyone use the same hero.
- Store tag: "Choose your difficulty".
Ways to split the work
- If a partner struggles with their part, switch to unlimited mode, where everyone can play the same hero.
- Puzzles scale with the number of players, so a two-player run is built for two.
Sources (8, 3 official) and how we rate
- 1. Nintendo (official store page) (official): Three heroes: Amadeus the Wizard, Pontius the Knight, Zoya the Thief. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 2. Geeks vs Geeks (review): Amadeus conjures boxes for switches and platforms. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 3. Geeks vs Geeks (review): Pontius has a sword and shield. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 4. Geeks vs Geeks (review): Levels need the skills of all three heroes. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 5. Nintendo (official store page) (official): Challenges are tailored to the number of players. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 6. Nintendo (official store page) (official): The store lists the feature tag "Choose your difficulty". Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 7. Geeks vs Geeks (review): Classic mode: one of each hero; unlimited mode: duplicates allowed. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 8. Geeks vs Geeks (review): Reviewer: if a partner struggles with their part, there is often another way, especially in unlimited mode. Read Oct 18, 2026.
Both ratings use one fixed scale for every game, higher is easier for a mixed pair; the levels are on our data page. Roles are split by experience, never by who the players are.
Screenshots
Every store, field by field
Xbox Series X|S
- Players on one console
- 2-4 players (co-op)
- Online
- 2-4 players (co-op)
- Shared/split screen label
- No
- Crossplay
- No
- ESRB rating
- Everyone 10+ (Fantasy Violence)
- Regular price
- $29.99
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Oct 8, 2019
Show all fields (4 this store does not have)
- Local wireless (several consoles): not a store field
- Remote Play Together: not a store field
- Steam Deck: not a store field
- Play modes: not a store field
Official page (Microsoft Store (Xbox))Checked Oct 18, 2026
Switch
- Players on one console
- 1-4 players
- Local wireless (several consoles)
- 1-4 players
- Online
- 1-4 players, needs Nintendo Switch Online
- ESRB rating
- Everyone 10+ (Fantasy Violence)
- Regular price
- $29.99
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Oct 8, 2019
- Play modes
- TV mode, Tabletop mode, Handheld mode
Show all fields (4 this store does not have)
- Shared/split screen label: not a store field
- Crossplay: not a store field
- Remote Play Together: not a store field
- Steam Deck: not a store field
Official page (Nintendo.com store)Checked Oct 18, 2026
PC (Steam)
- Players on one console
- Local co-op listed (no player count on Steam)
- Online
- Online play listed
- Shared/split screen label
- Yes
- Crossplay
- No
- Remote Play Together
- Yes
- Steam Deck
- Verified
- ESRB rating
- Everyone 10+ (Fantasy Violence)
- Regular price
- $29.99
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Oct 8, 2019
Show all fields (2 this store does not have)
- Local wireless (several consoles): not a store field
- Play modes: not a store field
Official page (Steam)Checked Oct 18, 2026
"Not a store field" means that store has no such label at all; "Not listed" means the store has the field and left it empty. Genres: Adventure, Action, Family, Platformer.
Is this good for couch co-op?
Played it on one sofa? Tell other readers. One anonymous vote per game, no account.
Loading votes…
If you liked this co-op, try
All of these: Both seat 4 on Xbox Series X|S · Remote Play Together
Image: META Publishing via Microsoft StoreLocal4Biped 2Adventure + Action
Image: Ubisoft via Microsoft StoreLocal4BrawlhallaFamily + Platformer
Image: Seaven Studio via Microsoft StoreLocal4BrotatoAdventure + Action
Image: Inertia Game Studios via Microsoft StoreLocal4CatastronautsAdventure + Action
Picked by shared database fields only (player count, screen type, genre, drop-in, console), not by popularity.