PS5 · Xbox Series X|S · Switch 2 · Switch · PC (Steam)
Marvel Cosmic Invasion co-op
On one console, the stores list 1-4 players on PS5, 2-4 players on Xbox Series X|S, 1-4 players on Switch 2, 1-4 players on Switch; online play goes up to 4.
- Co-op
- Drop-in
- Remote Play Together
- Tabletop OK
- Crossplay
- Online needs PS Plus
- Online needs NSO
Co-op or versus: from the Microsoft Store co-op fields and Steam categories.
Quick answer for your console
Yes: 1-4 players on one PS5
Grab a second controller.
- Split or shared screen: not stated by PlayStation Store
- Online: 2-4 players, needs PlayStation Plus
- Regular price $29.99
- PlayStation Store, checked Oct 18, 2026
Yes: 2-4 players on one Xbox Series X|S
Grab a second controller.
- The store's Shared/split screen label is on; it does not say which
- Online: 2-4 players (co-op)
- Crossplay listed by the store
- Regular price $29.99
- In Game Pass
- Microsoft Store (Xbox), checked Oct 18, 2026
Yes: 1-4 players on one Switch 2
Grab a second controller.
- Split or shared screen: not stated by Nintendo.com store
- Controllers: Nintendo.com store does not say whether one Joy-Con each is enough
- Online: 1-4 players, needs Nintendo Switch Online
- Regular price $29.99
- Nintendo.com store, checked Oct 18, 2026
Yes: 1-4 players on one Switch
Grab a second controller.
- Split or shared screen: not stated by Nintendo.com store
- Controllers: Nintendo.com store does not say whether one Joy-Con each is enough
- Online: 1-4 players, needs Nintendo Switch Online
- Regular price $29.99
- Nintendo.com store, checked Oct 18, 2026
Yes: Steam lists local co-op on one PC
Grab a second controller.
- The store's Shared/split screen label is on; it does not say which
- Online: Online play listed
- Crossplay listed by the store
- Remote Play Together: a friend joins your local game over the internet
- Steam Deck: Verified
- Regular price $29.99
- Steam, checked Oct 18, 2026
Same console or online
Up to 4 players
- PS5: 1-4 players
- Xbox Series X|S: 2-4 players (co-op)
- Switch 2: 1-4 players
- Switch: 1-4 players
- PC (Steam): Local co-op listed (no player count on Steam)
- Drop-in play (named in the PlayStation Store description)
Up to 4 players
- PS5: 2-4 players, needs PlayStation Plus
- Xbox Series X|S: 2-4 players (co-op)
- Switch 2: 1-4 players, needs Nintendo Switch Online
- Switch: 1-4 players, needs Nintendo Switch Online
- PC (Steam): Online play listed
- Crossplay listed by Microsoft Store (Xbox) and Steam
- Steam Remote Play Together: friends can join a local session over the internet
How to split the roles
When one of you plays more than the other: who takes which seat in Marvel Cosmic Invasion, and why.
Use swaps to extend combos and time duo specials on tougher stages.
The swap system and duo specials are the core combo tools, per the official page and review.
Pick the story-featured heroes first; they handle the stage enemies best.
The review says the story-featured characters were also the best suited to take on enemies and hazards.
Skill-gap friendly · higher is easier
3out of 5
Drop-in and drop-out and player-count scaling are general help. There is no difficulty setting and no assist found.
General help only: a difficulty choice, drop-in/drop-out, quick respawn, per-player settings or turn-based pace. Both players still face the same core challenge.
Easy to coordinate · higher is easier
2out of 3 · Medium
Swapping and duo specials need the two players to coordinate timing, per the official Cosmic Swap description.
Medium: regular hand-offs, timed moves together or shared decisions.
The roles Same moves for both
Each player picks two heroes per level and can swap between them. No source describes a fixed role for each player.
Hero pair Moderate
Moderate seat: timing and planning.
Picks two heroes for each level and swaps between them for combos, partner summons, and duo special attacks.
- Timing
- Planning
Help for the newer player
- A drop-in and drop-out system lets players join and leave during play.
- The campaign has no difficulty setting; balance changes with the number of human players.
- Story-featured heroes are the best suited for stage enemies and hazards.
If one of you fails: Dying still earns experience, per the Noisy Pixel review.
Ways to split the work
- Swap heroes mid-combo to extend combos; the swap is the coolest system.
- Use duo specials when in trouble; they deal extreme damage.
Sources (8, 3 official) and how we rate
- 1. DOTEMU (PlayStation Store page) (official): Choose two heroes per level and switch between them instantly. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 2. DOTEMU (PlayStation Store page) (official): Local and online play with a drop-in and drop-out adaptive system. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 3. DOTEMU (PlayStation Store page) (official): 1 to 4 players; up to four online players need PS Plus. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 4. Noisy Pixel (Azario Lopez review, December 1 2025): The campaign is built around pairings; story sections focus on a duo of heroes. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 5. Noisy Pixel (Azario Lopez review, December 1 2025): No campaign difficulty setting; balance changes with the number of human players. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 6. Noisy Pixel (Azario Lopez review, December 1 2025): Swap actions extend combos; duo specials deal extreme damage. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 7. Noisy Pixel (Azario Lopez review, December 1 2025): Story-featured characters were also the best suited to take on enemies and hazards. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 8. Noisy Pixel (Azario Lopez review, December 1 2025): If you die, you still earn experience. Read Oct 18, 2026.
Both ratings use one fixed scale for every game, higher is easier for a mixed pair; the levels are on our data page. Roles are split by experience, never by who the players are.
Trailer and screenshots
Every store, field by field
PS5
- Players on one console
- 1-4 players
- Online
- 2-4 players, needs PlayStation Plus
- ESRB rating
- Everyone 10+ (Animated Blood, Fantasy Violence, Mild Language)
- Regular price
- $29.99
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Dec 1, 2025
Show all fields (6 this store does not have)
- Local wireless (several consoles): not a store field
- Shared/split screen label: not a store field
- Crossplay: not a store field
- Remote Play Together: not a store field
- Steam Deck: not a store field
- Play modes: not a store field
Official page (PlayStation Store)Checked Oct 18, 2026
Xbox Series X|S
- Players on one console
- 2-4 players (co-op)
- Online
- 2-4 players (co-op)
- Shared/split screen label
- Yes
- Crossplay
- Yes
- ESRB rating
- Everyone 10+ (Fantasy Violence, Animated Blood, Mild Language)
- Regular price
- $29.99
- Subscription
- Game Pass
- Release date
- Dec 1, 2025
Show all fields (4 this store does not have)
- Local wireless (several consoles): not a store field
- Remote Play Together: not a store field
- Steam Deck: not a store field
- Play modes: not a store field
Official page (Microsoft Store (Xbox))Checked Oct 18, 2026
Switch 2
- Players on one console
- 1-4 players
- Local wireless (several consoles)
- Not listed
- Online
- 1-4 players, needs Nintendo Switch Online
- ESRB rating
- Everyone 10+ (Animated Blood, Fantasy Violence, Mild Language, In-Game Purchases)
- Regular price
- $29.99
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Dec 1, 2025
- Play modes
- TV mode, Tabletop mode, Handheld mode
Show all fields (4 this store does not have)
- Shared/split screen label: not a store field
- Crossplay: not a store field
- Remote Play Together: not a store field
- Steam Deck: not a store field
Official page (Nintendo.com store)Checked Oct 18, 2026
Switch
- Players on one console
- 1-4 players
- Local wireless (several consoles)
- Not listed
- Online
- 1-4 players, needs Nintendo Switch Online
- ESRB rating
- Everyone 10+ (Animated Blood, Fantasy Violence, Mild Language, In-Game Purchases)
- Regular price
- $29.99
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Dec 1, 2025
- Play modes
- TV mode, Tabletop mode, Handheld mode
Show all fields (4 this store does not have)
- Shared/split screen label: not a store field
- Crossplay: not a store field
- Remote Play Together: not a store field
- Steam Deck: not a store field
Official page (Nintendo.com store)Checked Oct 18, 2026
PC (Steam)
- Players on one console
- Local co-op listed (no player count on Steam)
- Online
- Online play listed
- Shared/split screen label
- Yes
- Crossplay
- Yes
- Remote Play Together
- Yes
- Steam Deck
- Verified
- ESRB rating
- Not listed
- Regular price
- $29.99
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Dec 1, 2025
Show all fields (2 this store does not have)
- Local wireless (several consoles): not a store field
- Play modes: not a store field
Official page (Steam)Checked Oct 18, 2026
"Not a store field" means that store has no such label at all; "Not listed" means the store has the field and left it empty. Genres: Adventure, Action, Fighting.
Is this good for couch co-op?
Played it on one sofa? Tell other readers. One anonymous vote per game, no account.
Loading votes…
If you liked this co-op, try
All of these: Adventure + Action · Remote Play Together
Image: SEGA via Microsoft StoreLocal4Sonic SuperstarsBoth seat 4 on PS5 · Drop-in co-op
Image: META Publishing via Microsoft StoreLocal4Biped 2Both seat 4 on Xbox Series X|S
Image: Seaven Studio via Microsoft StoreLocal4BrotatoBoth seat 4 on Xbox Series X|S
Image: Inertia Game Studios via Microsoft StoreLocal4CatastronautsBoth seat 4 on Xbox Series X|S
Picked by shared database fields only (player count, screen type, genre, drop-in, console), not by popularity.