PS5 · Xbox Series X|S · Switch 2 · Switch · PC (Steam)
It Takes Two co-op
On one console, the stores list 1-2 players on PS5, 2 players on Xbox Series X|S, 2 players on Switch 2, 2 players on Switch; online play goes up to 2.
- Co-op
- Split-screen
- Friend's Pass
- Remote Play Together
- Tabletop OK
- Online needs PS Plus
- Online needs NSO
Co-op or versus: from the Microsoft Store co-op fields and Steam categories.
Quick answer for your console
Yes: 1-2 players on one PS5
Grab a second controller.
- Split or shared screen: not stated by PlayStation Store
- Online: 2 players, needs PlayStation Plus
- The store description mentions a Friend's Pass
- PlayStation Store, checked Oct 18, 2026
- Microsoft Store (Xbox) mentions split-screen
- The Switch 2 listing on Nintendo.com store mentions split-screen
Yes: 2 players on one Xbox Series X|S
Grab a second controller.
- Split-screen (named in the Microsoft Store (Xbox) description)
- Online: 2 players (co-op)
- The store description mentions a Friend's Pass
- Regular price $39.99
- In Game Pass
- Microsoft Store (Xbox), checked Oct 18, 2026
Yes: 2 players on one Switch 2
Grab a second controller.
- Split-screen (named in the Nintendo.com store description)
- Controllers: Nintendo.com store does not say whether one Joy-Con each is enough
- Online: 2 players, needs Nintendo Switch Online
- The store description mentions a Friend's Pass
- Regular price $39.99
- Nintendo.com store, checked Oct 18, 2026
Yes: 2 players on one Switch
Grab a second controller.
- Split or shared screen: not stated by Nintendo.com store
- Controllers: Nintendo.com store does not say whether one Joy-Con each is enough
- Online: 2 players, needs Nintendo Switch Online
- The store description mentions a Friend's Pass
- Nintendo.com store, checked Oct 18, 2026
- Microsoft Store (Xbox) mentions split-screen
- The Switch 2 listing on Nintendo.com store mentions split-screen
Yes: Steam lists local co-op on one PC
Grab a second controller.
- The store's Shared/split screen label is on; it does not say which
- Online: Online play listed
- The store description mentions a Friend's Pass
- Remote Play Together: a friend joins your local game over the internet
- Steam Deck: Verified
- Regular price $39.99
- Steam, checked Oct 18, 2026
- Microsoft Store (Xbox) mentions split-screen
- The Switch 2 listing on Nintendo.com store mentions split-screen
Same console or online
Up to 2 players
- PS5: 1-2 players
- Xbox Series X|S: 2 players (co-op)
- Switch 2: 2 players
- Switch: 2 players
- PC (Steam): Local co-op listed (no player count on Steam)
- Split-screen (named in the Microsoft Store (Xbox) description)
- Drop-in: no store description says so (we only read store text for this). Not sure? See role notes
Up to 2 players
- PS5: 2 players, needs PlayStation Plus
- Xbox Series X|S: 2 players (co-op)
- Switch 2: 2 players, needs Nintendo Switch Online
- Switch: 2 players, needs Nintendo Switch Online
- PC (Steam): Online play listed
- Steam Remote Play Together: friends can join a local session over the internet
- A store description mentions a Friend's Pass
How to split the roles
When one of you plays more than the other: who takes which seat in It Takes Two, and why.
May
IGN's guide puts the more precise aimer, the better platformer and the better fighter on May in later levels.
Cody
IGN gives May the precise-aim, platforming and combat jobs in later levels; in The Tree, Cody's sap gun sets up targets for May's rockets.
Skill-gap friendly · higher is easier
2out of 5
No sourced assist or difficulty setting; both players must master each level's new tools.
Little help: no assist found or only minor aids; both players must aim, time jumps or handle physics about equally well.
Easy to coordinate · higher is easier
1out of 3 · Hard
Puzzles have the two characters doing different things, and many doors need both at the same time.
Hard: constant talking, or one player sees or knows what the other needs.
The roles Different jobs, changing by chapter
Cody and May get different tools in every level (for example nails vs hammer, sap gun vs rocket launcher).
Cody Moderate
Moderate seat: aim and puzzles. Suits the newer player.
Different tools each level; in The Tree, a sap gun that marks targets for May.
- Aim
- Puzzles
May Demanding
Demanding seat: aim and platforming. Suits the more experienced player.
Different tools each level; in The Tree, a rocket launcher that needs precise aim.
- Aim
- Platforming
- Timing
Help for the newer player
No help feature for a weaker player is named in the sources we read.
No official assist or difficulty option found. A community comment says there is no difficulty setting "afaik" (unconfirmed by an official source).
Ways to split the work
- At a puzzle, each player looks for their own interactable thing: Cody and May usually do different things.
- Doors and blockers often need both players to interact at the same time.
- Lost your partner? Press R3/RS to locate them.
Sources (14, 3 official) and how we rate
- 1. EA (official game page) (official): Each new level brings new, connected abilities for the two characters. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 2. EA (official game page) (official): Built purely for two: couch co-op or online with Friend's Pass. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 3. EA (official game page) (official): Couch co-op works without an internet connection. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 4. IGN guide: IGN (The Shed): better aimer plays Cody, better platformer plays May. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 5. IGN guide: IGN (The Tree): the most precise aimer should play May. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 6. IGN guide: IGN (Cuckoo Clock): the better platformer should play May. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 7. IGN guide: IGN (The Garden): the better fighter should play May. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 8. IGN guide: IGN (The Attic): the better shooter and aimer should play May. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 9. IGN guide: IGN (The Shed): Cody shoots nails, May uses a hammer on them. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 10. IGN guide: IGN (The Tree): May gets a rocket launcher, Cody a sap gun. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 11. IGN guide: IGN: press R3/RS to locate the other player. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 12. IGN guide: IGN: puzzles usually have Cody and May doing different things. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 13. IGN guide: IGN: many doors need both characters to interact at the same time. Read Oct 18, 2026.
- 14. Reddit via Arctic Shift (community): Community comment: no difficulty setting as far as the commenter knows; some parts are challenging for an absolute beginner. Read Oct 18, 2026.
Both ratings use one fixed scale for every game, higher is easier for a mixed pair; the levels are on our data page. Roles are split by experience, never by who the players are.
Trailer and screenshots
Every store, field by field
PS5
- Players on one console
- 1-2 players
- Online
- 2 players, needs PlayStation Plus
- ESRB rating
- Teen (Animated Blood, Comic Mischief, Fantasy Violence, Language)
- Regular price
- Price not shown: the store page had no regular price that day
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Mar 26, 2021
Show all fields (6 this store does not have)
- Local wireless (several consoles): not a store field
- Shared/split screen label: not a store field
- Crossplay: not a store field
- Remote Play Together: not a store field
- Steam Deck: not a store field
- Play modes: not a store field
Official page (PlayStation Store)Checked Oct 18, 2026
Xbox Series X|S
- Players on one console
- 2 players (co-op)
- Online
- 2 players (co-op)
- Shared/split screen label
- Yes
- Crossplay
- No
- ESRB rating
- Teen (Fantasy Violence, Comic Mischief, Language, Animated Blood)
- Regular price
- $39.99
- Subscription
- Game Pass
- Release date
- Mar 26, 2021
Show all fields (4 this store does not have)
- Local wireless (several consoles): not a store field
- Remote Play Together: not a store field
- Steam Deck: not a store field
- Play modes: not a store field
Official page (Microsoft Store (Xbox))Checked Oct 18, 2026
Switch 2
- Players on one console
- 2 players
- Local wireless (several consoles)
- 2 players
- Online
- 2 players, needs Nintendo Switch Online
- ESRB rating
- Teen (Animated Blood, Comic Mischief, Fantasy Violence, Language, Users Interact)
- Regular price
- $39.99
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Oct 15, 2026
- Play modes
- TV mode, Tabletop mode, Handheld mode
Show all fields (4 this store does not have)
- Shared/split screen label: not a store field
- Crossplay: not a store field
- Remote Play Together: not a store field
- Steam Deck: not a store field
Official page (Nintendo.com store)Checked Oct 18, 2026
Switch
- Players on one console
- 2 players
- Local wireless (several consoles)
- 2 players
- Online
- 2 players, needs Nintendo Switch Online
- ESRB rating
- Teen (Animated Blood, Comic Mischief, Fantasy Violence, Language, Users Interact)
- Regular price
- Price not shown: the store page had no regular price that day
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Nov 4, 2022
- Play modes
- TV mode, Tabletop mode, Handheld mode
Show all fields (4 this store does not have)
- Shared/split screen label: not a store field
- Crossplay: not a store field
- Remote Play Together: not a store field
- Steam Deck: not a store field
Official page (Nintendo.com store)Checked Oct 18, 2026
PC (Steam)
- Players on one console
- Local co-op listed (no player count on Steam)
- Online
- Online play listed
- Shared/split screen label
- Yes
- Crossplay
- No
- Remote Play Together
- Yes
- Steam Deck
- Verified
- ESRB rating
- Teen (Animated Blood, Comic Mischief, Fantasy Violence, Language)
- Regular price
- $39.99
- Subscription
- None found on check date
- Release date
- Mar 26, 2021
Show all fields (2 this store does not have)
- Local wireless (several consoles): not a store field
- Play modes: not a store field
Official page (Steam)Checked Oct 18, 2026
"Not a store field" means that store has no such label at all; "Not listed" means the store has the field and left it empty. Genres: Adventure, Action.
Is this good for couch co-op?
Played it on one sofa? Tell other readers. One anonymous vote per game, no account.
Loading votes…
If you liked this co-op, try
All of these: Both seat 2 on PS5 · Split-screen · Adventure + Action · Remote Play Together
Image: Larian Studios via Microsoft StoreLocal2Baldur's Gate 3Rated Mature 17+
Image: iam8bit Presents via Microsoft StoreLocal2Escape AcademyRated Everyone 10+
Image: Outright Games Ltd. via Microsoft StoreLocal2PAW Patrol WorldRated Everyone
Image: Electronic Arts via Microsoft StoreLocal2Split FictionRated Teen
Picked by shared database fields only (player count, screen type, genre, drop-in, console), not by popularity.